Earthquake catalogs and seismicity maps

  • Earthquake catalogs are based on automatic detection and picking. Magnitudes Mw and Ml are also computed automaticaly. Locations are calculated in the 1D velocity model of Rigo et al. (1996) using hypo71 location code

Rigo, A., H. LyonCaen, R. Armijo, A. Deschamps, D. Hatzfeld, K. Makropoulos, P. Papadimitriou, and I. Kassaras (1996), A microseismic study in the western part of the Gulf of Corinth (Greece) : Implications for large-scale normal faulting mechanisms, Geophys. J. Int., v. 126(3), pp. 663-688.

  • Format of catalogs is as follows: year, month, day, hour, minute, seconds, latitute, longitude, depth, Mw, Ml, erx, ery, erz, rms, number of P phases, number of S phases, quality (according to hypo71)
  •  Seismicity maps: quality A events (best ones) are in dark red, quality B in red, quality C in orange and quality D (low reliability) in yellow... Size is proportional to seismic moment.
cat_2016_Mw cat_2015_Mw cat_2014_Mw
cat_2013_Mw cat_2012_Mw cat_2011_Mw
cat_2010_Mw cat_2009_Mw cat_2008_Mw
cat_2007_Mw cat_2006_Mw cat_2005_Mw
cat_2004_Mw cat_2003_Mw cat_2002_Mw
cat_2001_Mw

cat_2000_Mw

 

 

Seismicity 2016 ( cat_2016_Mw

Seismicity 2015 (cat_2015_Mw)

Seismicity 2014 (cat_2014_Mw)

Seismicity 2013 (cat_2013_Mw)

Seismicity 2012 (cat_2012_Mw)

Seismicity 2011 (cat_2011_Mw)

Seismicity 2010 (cat_2010_Mw)

Seismicity 2009 (cat_2009_Mw)

Seismicity 2008 (cat_2008_Mw)

Seismicity 2007 (cat_2007_Mw)

Seismicity 2006 (cat_2006_Mw)

Seismicity 2005 (cat_2005_Mw)

Seismicity 2004 (cat_2004_Mw)

Seismicity 2003 (cat_2003_Mw)

Seismicity 2002 (cat_2002_Mw)

Seismicity 2001 (cat_2001_Mw)

Seismicity 2000 (cat_2000_Mw)

 

 

Nota: instruction to transform initial .ps images: convert -density 200 map_2016_Mw.ps -trim -background white +repage -flatten map_2016_Mw.gif

 

MOSAIC-ITN-EJD Joint PhD agreements

Below are templates, informations and links concerning the joint-PhD agreements in the partner institutions

  • ENS – Research University PSL: Joint-agreement
    • contacts: Cellule projets – Etudes doctorales:
  • Harokopio University of Athens
  • University of Patras
  • Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  • University Federico II Naples: PhD page

 

MOSAIC ITN-EJD ERS Projects

ESR1: NIGGG – INGV (Bulgaria – Italy)

ESR2: NOA – NIGGG (Greece – Bulgaria)

ESR3: HUA – CNRS (Greece – France)

ESR4: NKUA – CNRS (Greece – France)

ESR5: CNRS – UNINA (France – Italy)

ESR6: INGV – CNRS (Italy – France)

ESR7: CNRS – NOA (France – Greece)

ESR8: CUP – CNRS (Czech Republic – France)

ESR9: INGV – HUA (Italy – Greece)

ESR10: UNINA – CNRS (Italy – France)

ESR11: CNRS – NOA (France – Greece)

ESR12: CNRS – UPAT (France – Greece)

ESR13: UPAT – CUP (Greece – Czech Republic)

ESR14: CNRS – NKUA (France – Greece)

ESR15: NOA – INGV (Greece – Italy)

 

NOA WRF modelling of the troposphere

The central area (AREA-4), with ~1km pixel size and 30mn temporal scale, is surrounded by tha Areas 3, 2 and 1, all with 3h temporal scale

We use the WRF model with the following areas

  • Domain 1: 100 lines & 128 columns (27.794N , -1.822E / 51.531N , 41.557E)
  • Domain 2: 96 lines & 102 columns (34.476N , 18.617E / 41.406N , 30.311E)
  • Domain 3: 96 lines & 120 columns (37.381N , 19.872E / 39.738N , 24.354E)
  • Domain 4: 102 lines & 138 columns (37.95N , 21.095E / 38.78N , 22.800E)

MOSAIC ITN-EJD Work packages

WP1: ITN Project management

WP2: Summer schools

WP3: Workshops

WP4: SAR Interferometry (long time series 1992-2020, advanced InSAR (PS, SBAS, …), improving atmospheric correction, tie with GNSS, …)

WP5: GNSS (static with permanent and campaign observations, long time series 1990-2020, kinematic (techniques and applications), high rate) and gravity (absolute and relative, network and continuous).

WP6: Geodesy at sea (sea level, sea-bottom geodesy (1D & 3D positioning), sea-bottom strain measurements)

WP7: Earthquakes (observations and models 1990-2020, includes tsunami), transients (and their observation with geodetic sensors), localized deformation, faults

WP8: Deformation at large scale and long term (models of strain distribution and changes), connexion between rift, CTF, subduction. Continuity geomorphology (DEM), erosion (DEM changes), upper crust (structure, rheology), lower crust (rheology), mantle.

WP9: Outreach activities (Dissemination (web site), communication (sessions at international conferences, special volumes), exploitation)

MOSAIC ITN-EJD Project Summary

This ITN-EJD gathers universities and institutions from five countries, France, Greece, Czech Republic, Italy, Bulgaria, collaborating in the Corinth Rift Laboratory (http://crlab.eu), one of the EPOS Near Fault Observatories. The training network covers the various aspects of Geodesy already used for the research at CRL (GNSS, SAR interferometry, gravity) and those that we want to develop (sea level measurements, tilt measurements, off-shore Geodesy). Many of the techniques in use are evolving quickly from the technological point of view: GNSS with the arrival of new constellations like GALILEO and new positioning techniques like the PPP, SAR interferometry with several recent missions like SENTINEL, gravity with the development of new absolute gravity sensors based on cold atoms technologies, off-shore sensors for distance, strain, depth, tilt, gravity observations developed with a strong push of the industrials and also because of the need of more geophysical observations off-shore (e.g. for resources prospecting, meteorology, tsunami detection). The area of investigation for the ITN team is the « extended CRL area », which covers the NFO itself and the Ionian islands to the west. At such scale the partnership is beneficial not only for the NFO itself but also for the understanding and better assimilation of the boundaries conditions of the NFO, from the geophysical points of view (e.g. how the rifting process is related to the underlying subduction), and from the methodological point of view (e.g. in GNSS meteorology or in sea level analysis). The space observation plays an important role in this ITN, bridging the various work packages. The ESR involved in the ITN will have the opportunity to work in collaboration with several of the partner institutions, they will have the opportunity to do fieldwork in-land and/or off-shore. The ESR will also contribute to outreach activities in the targeted area

MOSAIC ITN-EJD Reference documents

Proposal acronym : MOSAIC
Draft proposal ID : SEP-210409852 (a final Proposal ID will be assigned as soon as the proposal is submitted)
Call : H2020-MSCA-ITN-2017
Type of action : MSCA-ITN-EJD
Topic : MSCA-ITN-2017
Call closure : 2017-01-10 17:00:00

You can review, edit and submit your proposal at any time from My Proposals tab in the Participant Portal.

Please note that the LEAR (Legal Entity Appointed Representative) of all organisations in this proposal will be notified about their involvement.

sep_usermanual

h2020-msca-itn-2017-part-b-document-1

h2020-msca-itn-2017-part-b-document-2

Example of the ITN Vertigo

MOSAIC ITN-EJD Partners

 

(1) Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) [PIC=999997930, VAT=FR40180089013]

Ecole Normale Supérieure PSL – Laboratoire de Géologie (UMR 8538) [PIC=999854758, VAT=FR 54 197 534 597, ERASMUS CODE=F PARIS087]

  • Frédérick Boudin (boudin@geologie.ens.fr)
  • Pierre Briole (briole@ens.fr) [Main contact]
  • Nicolas Chamot-Rooke (rooke@geologie.ens.fr)
  • Luce Fleitout (fleitout@geologie.ens.fr)
  • Hélène Lyon-Caen (helene.lyon-caen@ens.fr)
  • Alexis Rigo (alexis.rigo@ens.fr)
  • Mathieu Rodriguez (rodriguez@geologie.ens.fr)

University of La Rochelle (ULR) – LIENS (UMR 7266) [PIC=999846804, VAT=FR 21191700.327, ERASMUS CODE=F LA-ROCH08]

  • Valérie Ballu (valerie.ballu@univ-lr.fr) [Main contact]
  • Guy Woppelmann (guy.woppelmann@univ-lr.fr)

University Cote d’Azur (UCA) – (UMR 7329) [PIC=920248410=, ERASMUS CODE=F NICE01]

  • Anne Deschamps (deschamps@geoazur.unice.fr)
  • Lucie Rolland (lrolland@geoazur.unice.fr)
  • Anthony Sladen (sladen@geoazur.unice.fr) [Main contact]

University of Strasbourg (UNISTRA) – EOST (UMR 7516) [PIC=996569950, VAT=FR44130005457, ERASMUS CODE=F STRASBO48]

  • Jacques Hinderer (jacques.hinderer@unistra.fr)
  • Frédéric Masson (frederic.masson@unistra.fr) [Main contact]

 

(2) National Observatory of Athens (NOA) [PIC=999653677, VAT=EL090050779]

  • Konstantinos Chousianitis (chousianitis@noa.gr)
  • Panagiotis Elias (pelias@noa.gr)
  • Athanassios Ganas (aganas@noa.gr) [Main contact]
  • Dimitrios Katsanos (katsanos@noa.gr)
  • Adrianos Retalis (adrianr@meteo.noa.gr)
  • Nikos Roukounakis (nrouk@noa.gr)
  • LEAR: Olia Lazaridou (o.lazaridou@noa.gr)

 

(3) Harokopio University of Athens (HUA) [PIC=999858929, VAT=099075404, ERASMUS CODE=G KALLITH01]

  • Issaak Parcharidis (parchar.hua.gr) [Main contact]
  • Dora Perrou (dperrou@hua.gr)
  • LEAR: Demosthenes Panagiotakos (vice-rector of Harokopio University)

 

(4) National Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA) [PIC=999643007, VAT=EL090145420, ERASMUS CODE= G ATHINE01]

  • Stylianos Chailas (schailas@geol.uoa.gr)
  • Paraskevi Nomikou (evinom@geol.uoa.gr)
  • Vassilis Sakkas (vsakkas@geol.uoa.gr) [Main contact]
  • Andreas Tzanis (atzanis@geol.uoa.gr)
  • Nikos Voulgaris (voulgaris@geol.uoa.gr)

 

(5) University of Patras (UPAT) [PIC=999894528, VAT=EL998219694, ERASMUS CODE=G PATRA01]

 

(6) Charles University Prague (CUP) [PIC=999923434, VAT=CZ00216208, ERASMUS CODE=CZ PRAHA07]

  • Ondřej Čadek (oc@karel.troja.mff.cuni.cz)
  • František Gallovič (gallovic@karel.troja.mff.cuni.cz) [Main contact]
  • Jacub Kostelecky (jakub.kostelecky@pecny.cz)
  • Jan Kostelecky (kost@fsv.cvut.cz)
  • Vladimir Plicka (vp@karel.troja.mff.cuni.cz)
  • Jiri Zahradnik (jz@karel.troja.mff.cuni.cz)

 

(7) National Institute of Gephysics, Geodesy and Geography, Bulgarian Academy of sciences, Sofia (NIGGG-BAS) [PIC=974642324, VAT=BG175905823] (& University of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Geodesy, Sofia (UASG) [PIC=999871151, VAT=BG000670616, ERASMUS CODE=BG SOFIA04])

  • Dimitar Dimitrov (clgdimi@bas.bg)
  • Ivan Georgiev (ivan@bas.bg)
  • Maya Ilieva (m_b_ilieva@abv.bg) [Main contact]

 

(8) Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Rome (INGV) [PIC=999472675, VAT=IT06838821004]

  • Matteo Albano (matteo.albano@ingv.it)
  • Antonio Avallone (antonio.avallone@ingv.it)
  • Marco Anzidei (marco.anzidei@ingv.it) [Main contact]
  • Christian Bignami (christian.bignami@ingv.it)
  • Antonio Montuori (antonio.montuori@ingv.it)
  • Marco Moro (marco.moro@ingv.it)
  • Marco Polcari (marco.polcari@ingv.it)
  • Enrico Serpelloni (enrico.serpelloni@ingv.it)
  • Salvatore Stramondo (salvatore.stramondo@ingv.it)

 

(9) University Federico II Naples (UNINA) [PIC=999976590, VAT=IT00876220633, ERASMUS CODE=I NAPOLI01] RISSC-LAB

  • Antonio Emolo (antonio.emolo@unina.it)
  • Gaetano Festa (gaetano.festa@na.infn.it)
  • Sonia Sorrentino (sorrentin@fisica.unina.it)
  • Aldo Zollo (aldo.zollo@unina.it) [Main contact]